Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Trello + Butler to track home maintenance tasks

Some Context...

I'm writing this, inspired by the @Jimmy Seddon's awesome Trello, Gaming & Charity (Oh My!) - featuring butler automation!

I work on Trello, and on Butler. I'm an engineer on the team that builds the product.

This isn't about how Trello uses Trello, or how to use Trello for work - this is how I use Trello in my personal life. A lot of the concepts on the board I'm showing also apply to other boards I use daily at work though.

Home Maintenance, Trello style

I recently moved from an apartment into a house. With that change, came a lot of little tasks that I previously didn't needed to worry about. Things like:

• moving the recycling cans out to the street
  • making sure that the roof is not leaking
  • replacing water filters
  • replacing HVAC filters
  • replacing A/C filters
  • cleaning the dryer vent from lint

I needed a way to keep track of all these things, and my brain didn't seem like a good place to try and keep all that stuff!

So here's how I manage these tasks.

If you'd like to see me walk through the board on video, here's a screencast.

Board setup

trello.com_b_y0bn4k0o_home-maintenance.png

At the moment, this board only has one member: me.

Often I try to keep my boards relatively small, so that I can see the whole board on my laptop monitor.

Each task gets a card. Each card has a cadence that the task needs to be completed in. That's determined by the list the card is in.

All the cards have a due date, and the due date indicates when I next need to complete that task.

I also keep track of information related to the task in the description, and in the attachments of the card. For example all those "replace filter" tasks I mentioned? I put the link to the correct type of filter on the card, as an attachment, so next year, when that task comes up, I know which filter I need to order.