How do I become a really good product owner?

luisrieke October 24, 2021

Hey there,

hope it's not too off-topic (if it is, please move to this category) ..

I love using Jira and Trello, Git and other tools to get many things done and being productive. First I used that for my personal life. Nowadays, I'm doing lot's of organizing as well for my company and for my university projects where we sometimes work with lots of people.

I really like this organizing stuff, feels good to me. So I started to wonder if I should become a Product Owner (at the moment I'm studying web development and career wise I went more into this direction so far) .. But I'm really interested going into this special direction as it combines lots of my skills.

We don't have any propper education (I guess we have somewhere) for this new kinda Job title in Germany. So I started doing this course: https://www.coursera.org/learn/agile-atlassian-jira

Do you have other tips on how to get really good in agile project management especially for Software / web engineering teams?

I hope the question is not too frank. I will be leaving university in 1 year and would like to prepare properly for starting my profession.

Best regards from Berlin,

Luis

2 comments

Comment

Jacob Vu
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 25, 2021

Hi @luisrieke

A Product Owner is responsible for prioritizing work in the backlog and defines stories for their team - they understand why they need to build something and what should be prioritized over another.

It's partially organizing work but part of it is providing insight into why developers need to build certain things. Having a good understanding of your customers, similar to a Product Manager, I feel would be important and understanding how to prioritize would also be good.