How did you learn to use Jira (Jira Software or Jira Service Desk)?

Gary Barg
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 24, 2018

We each have our story to tell about how we learned to use Jira Software or Jira Service Desk. I'm Gary, from Atlassian University. Your stories will help others and, will help us in University better understand how we can help you in your journey to Jira proficiency. Thanks for taking some time to share.

5 comments

Comment

Mary Ramirez
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 24, 2018

Hi,

I'm very new to Atlassian (less than 6 months) and in order to learn how to use Jira Software, I found practicing the dev environment to be most helpful. I practiced doing different tasks as a Project Admin and as a Jira Admin in order to really understand the permissions and concepts. I'd like to see a transcript or closed captions added to the university courses. The university courses for ACP-600 are very helpful. Hopefully, the others can be revamped.  

Gary Barg
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 25, 2018

Thanks for your reply Mary. If you are taking the On Demand version of the classes, there is a transcript available via a tab in the player. Can you explain a bit more when you say you hope the others can be revamped?

Mary Ramirez
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 25, 2018

Hi @Gary Barg,