Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Atlassian University Series - Jira Fundamentals

Most people thought it would be best to start this journey with the Jira Fundamentals Learning Path. This would give me the basics of the software, introduce common used terminology and should make it easier to complete the paths up ahead. 

Without much delay, I set upon this task. Since I followed this path before on a different account, I felt confident that I should breeze through this.

So, without further ado, how did it go?

Course

The course is well structured and starts at the absolute beginner level. It assumes that you are a user of the product, wont be administering and have a Jira instance available in which you can practice. 

While I cannot encourage testing in a production environment (really, please don’t), the tasks in this course won’t interfere with the working of the instance. Just make sure you either improve upon them or delete them after you are done.

If you don’t have an instance, or would like to explore the product more than is possible as a user, I highly encourage you to start a free instance. Just go to https://www.atlassian.com/software/jira/free and sign up. The free version supports up to 10 users, plenty to experiment all you want.

While the course does introduce recent changes, it isn’t fully up-to-date. For instance, the course mentions Insights instead of the new name, Assets. 

However, it does introduce the products Jira Work Management and Jira Align. As to be expected in a fundamentals course, you won’t get much information about those products. Especially Jira Align, remains very vague. 

Focus points