What is meant by "Corporate Value" (or Business Value) ?

Deleted user May 3, 2022

My name is Calogero Bonasia, some people call me Kalos. I am interested in Organizational Intelligence and Collective Knowledge.

I write a lot, I write often. It's a way for me to remember what I read or what I deal with for work. When I was young I was an officer in the best air force in the world, the Italian Air Force, and I learned what it means to "work in a team".

To be "team."

I would like to contribute to this community channel, provided the channel manager agrees. I'm going to try with an article where I talk about value to companies. If you understand what is "valuable" to the company, you understand what is valuable to your topic. I believe.

What is meant by "Corporate Value" (or Business Value) ?

Finally, "How much will this save us time and money in the future?". Future value increases the chances of achieving one of the above values more easily in the (near) future by investing in innovation and learning: e.g. a new framework (custom or open source) that can be used for future development.

In fact, the Scrum Guide does not provide a definition of "value" at all, but strongly insists that a Team should provide value and that the Product Owner is the key person to decide what has value and what does not.

But what if there is no good definition of value ?

I can easily imagine a Scrum Team running perfectly with its Sprints, delivering high quality functionality at a steady pace for the Product Owner, but actually delivering nothing of value to the organization.

So "doing Scrum" (only) won't magically lead to more value. It is still very easy to risk working on the "wrong things at the wrong time".

So let's look at what the different types of business value might be.

We said that the work done by a Team should somehow benefit the organization or company as a whole.