Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Team Work Makes The Dream Work

Hey all!

Some time ago I saw this quote from Simon Sinek on twitter and it got stuck in my head. So now I’m sharing it with all of you in the hope that it connects with you too.

Simon-Sinek-Quote.png

In my opinion Simon hits the nail square on the head. Working on the same team doesn’t always imply working together. I’ve had plenty of experiences where people on the same team were actively working against each other instead of together. Sometimes this was because of malicious intent, often it simply was because they didn’t communicate properly or didn’t have a shared team goal and shared understanding of their goal.

This of course has a massive negative impact on your team health and your team performance. All of which will have an impact on your business (lower moral, more turnover, higher HR costs) and customers (lower support quality, lower product quality, lower customer satisfaction).

I’ve also experienced the opposite where people on different teams came together organically, worked together towards a shared goal, and did amazing things. The key differentiators I saw between these two very different types of teams weere pretty simple:

• Shared team goals that are clearly defined and understood by all.

• Structured and open communication between all team members.

• Having the team be a safe space to learn.

What comes to your mind when you read this quote? Let me know in the comments!

9 comments

Alex Barnaba January 27, 2023

I love this! Thank you for sharing!

Like Peter Van de Voorde likes this
Dave Mathijs
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 27, 2023

I still find inspiration in (Overcoming) the Five Dysfunctions of a Team by Patrick Lencioni:

1. Build trust