Agile 2018 - Reflections on teamwork, coaching and facilitation sessions

Hello, my name is Aumarie Benipayo and I'm a GTM Program Manager at Atlassian. I recently had the opportunity to attend Agile Alliance’s 2018 conference in San Diego last week and before the event becomes a fleeting memory, I’d like to share some of the learnings and insights from my time there! My main purpose for attending was professional development and specifically focusing on tracks about team health, coaching, facilitation, and leadership.

Be a multiplier.

The conference kicked off with Dominic Price giving the opening keynote. Needless to say, it was very inspiring and I’m not just giving lip service here. Many of the attendees I interacted with afterwards found something that was meaningful and resonated with them. One woman I met was an agile coach from the Federal Reserve Bank. She raved about the keynote and thought it was “brave” for the Alliance (this sounds SO outta Star Wars, lol) to bring in someone who didn’t just preach to the choir about frameworks. She thought the keynote was engaging, humorous, and more importantly, focused on teams. I wish I had a video camera!

For me, the message that resonated most was around being a multiplier. What we learn isn’t meaningful if we don’t put it into action. We all have the opportunity to teach and share something we’ve learned with others. Let’s all consider where we can make an impact beyond ourselves.

Screen Shot 2018-08-12 at 6.26.48 PM.png

Team Health ≠ Team Happiness

A lot of times we talk about healthy teams needing to be happy teams. But what I learned from Andy Cleff’s session on "Team Health and Well-being" is that happy can often be complacent. Optimize instead for resilient teams. Resiliency in teams is what gets you through the tough moments and hard conversations. Andy offered some tools and ideas for developing resiliency - take a look at the list and see what small experiments you can apply to your teams.