Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

creating multiple remote repos on Bitbucket from local repos using SourceTree

Sammy Moore March 27, 2013

I've tried to look for this with the search tool, but I'm either not wording my phrase right, or I'm trying to do something completely unsupported.

I'm new to git and have been using github for mac to play with the workflow of DVCS. I am looking for a solution for our company and think Bitbucket might be it since they host everything privately.

We currently have a hundred or so small pieces of custom code kept in seperate directories depending on client/project on a windows file server. I would somehow like to make each one of these directories repositories and be able to do the initial push/creation to Bitbucket, much like I can do with the GitHub application. Is that possible at all with SourceTree? If it were a few repos to add from BB's web interface, it wouldn't be so bad, but since its hundreds, it would be far easier to drag the project root directory in, do the initial commit, and then push to the server.

Hopefully this request makes sense.

Thanks,

Sammy

edit - To clarify; On my local machine, I would like to drag in a project directory into SourceTree and make it a git repository, I then want to commit it and push it to bitbucket. I would like this to create the remote repo on bitbucket.

2 answers

0 votes
Deleted user April 4, 2013

I have the same problem. Definately need a feature that can push a new local repo to bitbucket and also create a new bitbucket repo at the same time.

0 votes
stevestreeting
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 28, 2013

You can drag a folder in to SourceTree and if it's not a repository already it will open the New Repository window so you can create a repository for it.