Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Undo "Reset current branch to this commit"

lmiguelmh November 24, 2014

I am new with this tool, I've never used GIT neither.

I had a merge conflict... so I was messing with SourceTree and I did a hard "reset current branch to this commit" and ended with my code resetted and all my changes lost.

image2014-11-24 23:23:42.png

Is there a way that I could revert or undo this?

Thanks a lot.

2 answers

10 votes
TimP
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 24, 2014

Hi Im,

Don't panic! Losing work sucks, but there absolutely is a way to recover any previously committed changes smile Fortunately git is pretty good about not losing things, even if you've done a hard reset.

You'll need to use a git built-in tool called the reflog. Sourcetree doesn't yet support it, so you'll need to open your repository from the command line (and install git, if you haven't already).

Once you're in your repository, run the command git reflog to show a list of ref updates that you've made to your local repository. If the "reset" is the last change you made, it should look something like this:

$ git reflog
62eda16 HEAD@{0}: reset: moving to 62eda16
badcafe HEAD@{1}: blah blah blah
abc1234 HEAD@{2}: something something

You'll want to reset your branch (again) to the commit that it was pointing at before you ran the reset command. In the above example reflog output, this would be HEAD@{1} (badcafe). You can do this by running:

$ git reset badcafe

Hope this helps!

cheers,

Tim

Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 25, 2014