Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

This is not a valid working copy path

Alvin Cristales May 8, 2019

So I'm trying to upload my website but I having a lot of issue. I'm new to Sourcetree and I've been breaking my head here. I added my github account and everything went fine there. but when I try to add a repository and add folder I get "This is not a valid working copy path." and the add button is grayed out. In addition, in Tool > Option > Git my embedded button is grayed out too. please help embedded.jpgmyWebSite.jpg

3 answers

2 votes
setrov June 11, 2020

One rare scenario for this error:

- Sourcetree or the machine crashes

- Sourcetree (oddly) loses its config and git is now disabled

- Instead of showing a relevant message, such as"Git is disabled, check options", Sourcetree says the path is not a valid repository

1 vote
Mikael Sandberg
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 8, 2019

Hi Alvin,

Welcome to the Atlassian Community.

The Embedded button is grayed out because that is what is being used by Sourcetree, so that is expected.

You are getting the error message because you are are trying to add a directory to Sourcetree that is not a Git repository. In order to add a local repository you first have to initiate it as a Git repository using the command git init. Take a look at Setting up a repository to learn more, and I would also recommend looking at the other tutorials that you find there. 

Mikael Sandberg
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 8, 2019

And once you are done adding your code to a local repository, follow these steps to upload it to github, Adding an existing project to GitHub using the command line