Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sourcetree Crashes when Cloning a Repository

Jason Harrington July 14, 2021

I have been using Sourcetree with two Gitlab repositories for several months without any issues. Recently, I wanted to add a third repository and every time I try to clone the new repository to Sourcetree, it crashes (Sourcetree locks up and I have to use the Task Manager to close it) When I paste the HTTPS address from GitLab, Sourcetree recognizes the repository as a Git repository. A status circle starts spinning next to Advanced options and then Sourcetree freezes up.

The version of Sourcetree that I have installed is 3.4.5. Within the windows event viewer, I have noticed two errors that pop up. My colleague has been able to close the repository on his computer using Sourcetree without any issues. Do you have any ideas why this is happening?

Thanks,

Jason Harrington

12 answers

1 accepted

23 votes
Answer accepted
Miro XY July 15, 2021

Hi, 

I had the same error.

I solved it as follows:

- uninstall version 3.4.5

- delete folder c:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\Atlassian

- instal version 3.4.4 https://product-downloads.atlassian.com/software/sourcetree/windows/ga/SourceTreeSetup-3.4.4.exe

Miro

Jason Harrington July 16, 2021

Miro,

Thank you so much! That fixed my problem.

-Jason

Like danchiraico likes this
Pavariss Lintha October 29, 2021

Thank you , fixed my problem.

Wojtek Tomalik November 7, 2021

if you don't want to revert to an older version of the software, see Aidan's answer below - making sure the repo is not empty worked for me as well.

Like # people like this
Jay Ben December 26, 2021

Niubi 👍

a2cworks February 6, 2022

Still happens in version 3.4.7. 😥
The bug is not fixed yet.  (´・ω・`)

Like # people like this
Sagar Srivastava February 12, 2022

I confirm. its still crashing at this step in 3.4.7 and 3.4.4 works

Like # people like this
MOHAMOD Shah February 24, 2022