It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

SourceTree wont start or install

This has caused me hours of pain and work time lost!

My SourceTree just suddenly wouldnt start today, i had been using it fine for many months now. 

I've looked online and tried all the various suggestions but nothing works.

Ive tried uninstalling the app, reinstalling all different versions from the latest 2.4.8 to older versions. Ive also deleted the SourceTree folder and the Atlassian folders. Ive tried using CCleaner to uninstall and also to clean registrys. 

However, anytime i uninstall and try to use the installer i get a blue splash screen with sourcetree logo come up for a few seconds only, then the app is suddenly installed again and the folders are back where i deleted them from, however the app still does not open.

When i run the installer, its like its not even installing it, just bringing back the deleted folders from the dead, even though ive emptied out the recycle bin etc..

Please if you can help me fix this terrible issue so that i can open it up again?!

Im on the latest version of windows 10.

Thanks.

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted

I finally managed to sort it out, by downloading the newest version of SourceTree 2.5.5.0

All sorted now, no thanks to the useless team at Atlassian!!!

0 votes
Ana Retamal Atlassian Team Mar 13, 2018

Hi Nadim! Can you try a clean install and see if the issue gets fixed? You can do that following the steps:

1. Wipe Sourcetree preferences.
  2. Uninstall Sourcetree (if it shows on the App&Features list)
  3. Backup then delete the directory below before proceeding with next step:
    • Navigate to C:\Users\<UserName>\AppData\Local and delete Sourcetree & Sourcetree-Settings folder
    • Navigate to C:\Users\<UserName>\AppData\Local\Atlassian and delete all Sourcetree Files/ folder.