Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SourceTree- VBA Macros via xltrail

jkeeney June 11, 2018

I have been developing some VBA Macros in Excel and I would like to use revision control to help manage the development.

I have discovered https://www.xltrail.com/client which is an open source Git command line extension: git-diff and git-merge.

It seems to work great from the git command line.  However, I am used to using SourceTree.  Anyone know how I can merge these two together?

Under git I tried system git instead of embedded.  I also tried playing around with the external diff/merge options.  I couldn't seem to get it right.  

xltrail added the following to my .git/config file if this helps.

[diff "xltrail"]
   command = git-xltrail-diff.exe
[merge "xltrail"]
   name = xltrail merge driver for Excel workbooks
   driver = git-xltrail-merge.exe %P %O %A %B

I am a beginner with Git and SourceTree.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

5 answers

1 vote
fzumstein December 14, 2018

Hi @Mike Corsaro I am one of the maintainers of git-xltrail. I see that it now works with SourceTree 3.0.12. However, I can only see it working in the case of uncommitted changes, not for already committed changes. Is there a simple reason for why that is? We're happy to do changes on our side as per your suggestion but I was wondering if the current behaviour was expected. Thanks for a quick feedback!

fzumstein January 21, 2019

I wrote a short blog post about how to use SourceTree with git-xltrail: https://dev.to/fzumstein/how-to-diff-excel-vba-code-in-sourcetree-git-client-36k

0 votes
fzumstein September 18, 2019

Just to minimize confusion: We have renamed git-xltrail into Git XL and hence all commands are now "git xl" instead of "git xltrail". Everything else stays the same, but during upgrading it might be best to completely uninstall git-xltrail before you upgrade to git-xl.

0 votes