Password Required for user on host bitbucket.org

Jenna Malone March 17, 2018

Hello everyone,

I have a question, and I am a complete noob at this so please bear with me.

I created a new repository on Bitbucket. I named it Remote Repo Test, Access Level: This is a private repository, Forking: Allow only Private Forks, Repository type: Git.

Then I clicked Create Repository

I then clicked Clone in Sourcetree. I hit the dialog box, open sourcetree app. 

From there I get the clone new box but I also get a system dialog box that says "Password Required For user jennaCreates on host bitbucket.org. I enter my Atlassian password because that is the password I use to log into bitbucket and nothing happens, the dialog box just gets stuck in a loop. I also tried using the terminal, (keep in mind I am a super noob with the terminal and I pasted the git clone followed by the address. It asked me to enter my password for bitbucket and I did. It looked like maybe it worked but I went back to sourcetree and my remote repository was not there.

Can anyone please help? I saw in other forums others having the same issue, but it did not work for me. My system information is below.

I am using Mac OS 10.13.2 and using Sourcetree 2.7.1 (159).

7 answers

2 votes
Vlas Babinets January 28, 2019

I had a problem like this. When I tried to clone my repository with oAth I have been getting an errors with text like "incorrect username or password". Next time I selected different mode (the simple in Russian translate) authentification with username and password and got clone of my repository.

I have this problem only on MacOS. On PC with Windows 10 SourceTree work excellent.

1 vote
Sandra Jasionowska January 9, 2020

Hi guys, maybe you could try clone the repo using different format of the url.

I didn't have HTTPS connection configured, only SSH, so when I was trying to paste "normal" url of the repo (http://bitbucket.org/...), I was getting the same annoying message about the password.