New to version control... pushing commits to web server?

Benjamin Allison April 23, 2012

So I'm new to version control, and of courre, all things Git. I'm just wondering, what is the best way to handle sending my commits to my live web server?

Currently I'm making changes on my local machine, committing, then manually uploading revised files via ftp. But I assume there's a slick way (probably using the "Push" feature???) to automagically push files in a commit to the web server. Just thought I'd ask before possibly mucking something up!

Thanks!

2 answers

1 vote
stevestreeting
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 23, 2012

Yes, transmitting changes to another repository, whether that's over a file system, or a http protocol, or a ssh protocol, is done using 'Push'. You configure a remote to push to - you give it a name, and a URL, which might be something like https://yourusername@bitbucket.org/yourusername/yourrepo for example. Pushing is more sophisticated than just replicating the files, because it only pushes what's new, and in git you can also choose which branches you want to push. It also plays nicely when you start adding more users to the repository.