Incorrect username to push to Git Repo

mikeleung July 4, 2012

Hi, I have incorrectly typed my username while i was doing a pushing to a Git Repo.

I am now staying at the popup 'Password Required' For user xxx on host github.com.

I cannot provide the correct credential as the username is incorrect. But I can find nowhere to change this saved username.

I am stuck... may be it is a numb question as I am new to SourceTree ( and quite new to Git also ). Can anyone give me any hints?

8 answers

1 accepted

18 votes
Answer accepted
mikeleung October 9, 2012

After several attempts over time, I managed to solve it accidentally. Not sure if it is after some updates or settings.

I would suggest anyone who has the similar problem to take a look for preference -> Network and see if the usernames there would give you some help.

Ivan Brewis May 14, 2014

Had this issue.

What worked for me was Tools->Options->Authentication. SourceTree seems to use this and not the username specified on the actual remore...

This comment lead me to the answer.

Mike Taylor October 7, 2016

Old thread but this worked for me too.  I kept thinking it was a problem with the password because of the fact that SourceTree also won't accept the passphrase for my Putty default_rsa.ppk private key.  I verified I'm entering the right one by using PuttyGen to load it and finally gave up and removed the passphrase with PuttyGen.  But the problem with the repo login was not the password it was that it was using the wrong username (my email address).  So fixed that as noted here under Tools->Options->Authentication.  Didn't work when I tried to change it under Repository Settings.  It will never remember the username I put there.  Like it just ignores it and even opening the dialog again just shows a blank username again.

9 votes
Paul George November 2, 2017

I could authenticate in SourceTree > Tools > Options > Authentication