Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get rid of a failed merge?

Johan E. Bengtsson October 27, 2016

I am fairly new to SourceTree, so apologies if this question appears stupid... I have much more experience from using SVN and earlier CVS, but I think SourceTree works in a different way. I use SourceTree 1.8.3.0 under Windows 10. The central repository is at bitbucket.org .

I have a failed merge, showing in SourceTree as being based on two "branches", one representing my changes (not many), and another branch representing changes by another developer (not many) who probably edited emailed files and then committed them, before I realised that "commit" on its own does not "do that", so I made a push/merge that now reports conflicts.

How can I simply get rid of the merged version and back down to the changed files commtted by the other developer? Double-clicking the desired version advises me that I would get a "detached branch", and I am cautious about using branches for exactly the reason that it might create merge headaches like the current one. "Reset current branch to this commit" worked, but how can I now commit this version to be the current version in the central repository, instead of the version reported to have merge conflicts? I saw another question about "force push", but I do not find the mentioned "Allow force push" checkbox in preferences.

Can someone kindly advise me how to proceed with getting the central repository in a sane state again?

1 answer

0 votes
Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 27, 2016

Welcome to Git! I also came from a SVN/CVS background, and found the Git Book (online + free) very helpful in wrapping my head around the subtle but significant differences.