Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How does one use LFS in Sourcetree

Ben_Iyan January 22, 2019

I've been using Sourcetree for a few years now, and really like it because of the way it abstracts away the console command. I'm only recently looking into LFS in Git, after reading an entry on Unity's Asset Store page about a product called Plasticscm. I've read online that Git LFS comes bundled with Sourcetree, but I can't find how to activate it/include it in my project. Can anyone point me towards a tutorial on how to use Git LFS within Sourcetree? Thanks.

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 23, 2019

Hi Dean, welcome to the Community!

Is your project using Git LFS already? If not, you need to install Git LFS and make your repository aware of it as explained at Tutorial Git LFS.

After that, you can go to Sourcetree and choose whether you prefer to use embedded git LFS or system git LFS?

Hope that helps!
Ana

Ben_Iyan January 23, 2019

Hi Ana,

No, my project is not currently using Git LFS. It's only after I became aware of Plasticscm that I started looking into the issue.

I am still unclear about where I go from here, so hopefully you're patient. If Sourcetree comes bundled with Git LFS, why do I need to install a system version if I'll only ever use the one with Sourcetree? Sorry to be such a noob.

Dean

Like Dirk Claus likes this
klausisbruch January 27, 2020

Hi Dean,
if you follow the instructions Ana asked you to look into (Tutorial Git LFS), you find this sentence "Install Sourcetree, a free Git GUI client that comes bundled with Git LFS".
If you have a recent version of source tree, you are, locally, all set already.