Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I make a new directory when I deleted my old one?

BakedYams December 5, 2014

I'm using SourceTree on Windows 8 with GitHub and me and my friend are having some issues with it. I deleted my only link to the original master and I can't reconnect to it with any other folders. I'm a complete novice so I'm sorry for the lack of terminologies known for SourceTree. Essentially what I want to do it sync my folder (which has an updated game) to my friends repository (which has its own updates and we want to merge the branches so that both of us are have overlap with the new changes and still maintain the older stuff). We haven't updated master in 5 months so its useless to get it from that. As I said earlier, for some reason, I cannot connect to the repository he made.... Been at this for more than 4 hours. Thanks for the help in advance and sorry for my lack of knowledge on programming!

5 answers

0 votes
Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 8, 2014

Yes, show the hidden files. Each repository has a "hidden" .git directory. If you decide to move your repository to a new location, you need to make sure that hidden directory goes with it.

0 votes
BakedYams December 7, 2014

At the moment, "Don't show hidden files, folders, or drives". What would you suggest I do after knowing this, show the hidden files? Please respond, since this is a new account, I can only make three posts a day, which is why I responded more than a day later. Any help will be appreciated.

0 votes
Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 5, 2014