Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Feature branch with one commit

s_shatzkiy August 13, 2013

Hi!

I'm new to git and SourceTree. We plan to use git in our new project with git flow. I tested features of SourceTree and have one question.

When I start a new feature, make one commit and finish the feature - history looks linear - as if I simply committed to the develop branch. But when I start a feature, make two or more commits and finish it - then the history shows branches from develop.

Is it behavior correct or did I miss something? I tried the same thing with another git tool and got expected results. I prefer SourceTree however and want to solve this issue.

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
s_shatzkiy August 19, 2013
I found explanation of described behavior in git flow sources (https://github.com/nvie/gitflow/blob/develop/git-flow-feature).
# merge into BASE
	git_do checkout "$DEVELOP_BRANCH"
	if [ "$(git rev-list -n2 "$DEVELOP_BRANCH..$BRANCH" | wc -l)" -eq 1 ]; then
		git_do merge --ff "$BRANCH"
	else
		if noflag squash; then
		    git_do merge --no-ff "$BRANCH"
		else
			git_do merge --squash "$BRANCH"
			git_do commit
			git_do merge "$BRANCH"
		fi
	fi

But I have no idea why there is this "if" with fast-forward and without fast-forward.

Relevant issue on git flow - https://github.com/nvie/gitflow/issues/292

2 votes
Ilya Shaisultanov August 19, 2013

There's an open issue regarding this - https://github.com/nvie/gitflow/issues/292. Seems that it was author's decision, with no explanation given.

0 votes
KieranA
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 13, 2013

Hi Sergey,

This sounds like a simple case of a fast forward commit which means your commit is directly upstream of the branch. The git-scm docs explain it well: