Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Copy/Pasting a directory onto my repository!

Oscar Martinez Carmona March 30, 2014

Hi!

I'm a newbie to git and SourceTree. I've created a repository and following the steps created a textfile and allready committed and pushed it into the repository. Fine. Now I'm trying to copy/paste a folder containning other folders with the classes i'm trying to write, but... still haven't managed how to do it so! I try direct copy/paste into the working tree but it doesn't seem to work!

Can you guys walk me thought this, please!

Thanx so much in advance!

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 31, 2014

Do those folders have any contents yet (besides other folders)? Git only tracks files, not folders. As far as Git is concerned an empty folder may as well not exist.

Oscar Martinez Carmona March 31, 2014

Well, actually those folders contain other code files. I want to upload (sorry for that profane expression here) a folder called, in this case, "libraries" with a few folders inside it that contain code files, the classes headers and its implementations (.cpp and .h). But there's none empty folders here. Is that feasible with a copy/paste?

Thanx!

Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 31, 2014

Yeah, that all sounds fine. If you paste files (or folders that contain files) into your working copy, they should show up in SourceTree as untracked files (untracked have a ? icon). From there, they can be added and committed to the repository, then pushed to remotes.