Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not seeing Confluence Sidebar Options

Shreena Patel April 11, 2013

Hi there,

I have tried following the instructions from your Configuring a Sidebar Documentation. It says you need to have space administration permissions to see the Configure Sidebar options. I have administration rights i.e. I am a Confluence Administrator but I cannot them. Initially I saw this when I created the space and it had the default theme but when I switched to documentation theme and reversed it, it does not show up. Under Global permissions only the system-administrator has system administration rights. I cannot change this. Is there a way I can add myself to this group as it seems like it's Atlassian who has this right. This user is the only person who belongs to confluence-administrators and system-administrators group.

Help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Shreena

6 answers

0 votes
Mauro Badii
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
December 4, 2013

This problem is probably because the Space Theme is the 'Documentation Theme' and it doesn't have a sidebar. To change the theme follow: Applying a Theme to a Space

You have to be space administrator (not system-administrator) to do so.

Then the sidebar will appear when the Theme is changed to Global Look and Feel.

If it doesn't, you'll have to change the Default Confluence Look and Feel to the new Default Theme too. http://<your-instance>/wiki/admin/choosetheme.action

Cheers!

zoma plex August 13, 2019

Hello @Mauro Badii 

I am using confluence 6.13.5 and i have a question regarding the sidebar. When we are in Homepage we can able to see the page tree but when we switch to Questions/Blogs or in Space tools section, the page tree disappears. Can we keep the page tree visible throughout the space irrespective of which section we navigate.

Regards
Bhakti Prasad Panda

Mauro Badii