Method/tool to convert any other markup to Confluence Wiki Markup?

Trish Pulley May 3, 2012

Hello! We are in the process of migrating a massive amount of data from Lotus Notes into Confluence. The client has asked that we preserve the formatting of the text. I can provide exported text in some kind of markup, but not directly to Confluence Wiki Markup. Searching around, it appears as though the import ability of Confluence does not include converting other markups (MIME, HTML, etc.) into the Confluence Wiki Markup format. Since we have hundreds of thousands of Notes documents to convert, we need to have a way to automate this transfer.

Please tell me that my initial suspicion is wrong! I'm new to all things Atlassian so I'm just beginning the journey!

Thank you,

Trish P.

5 answers

0 votes
Ram April 30, 2015

Greetings !!!..

We have a similar requirement to convert thousands of forms from Lotus Notes Confluence. Each forms in Lotus Notes may have documents attached or as a screenshots on the form. Please let me know if you came across any tool for this conversion. Also, please let me know the reliability of Confluence when the forms/document grows. 

Thanks in Advance for your help.

0 votes
James Tran June 25, 2013

I also have a customer who has thousands of documents in a Lotus Notes DB and looking to convert those into Confluence Wiki pages. Is there a known solution anyone? Thanks

Ragnar Skulason June 26, 2013

What we did is export pages from Lotus Notes to .DXL and images+attachments with some Lotus notes exporting script. I wrote a DXL parser that transforms the richtext (the document body) in the DXL to xhtml and generates metadata from the DXL (sections, authors, history, etc). I then use this to recreate the content in Conflunce, create spaces, pages, add attachments, etc.

So I did not find 'out of the box' solution for this, so I had to do it my own way. :)

Mario March 17, 2015