Is there a way to always enforce Pull Requests instead of allowing pushing directly to a repository?

Hey.

I am new to Atlassian Stash, but I have been playing around for a day now.

Looking at the "Repository Pemissions" page:

https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/STASH028/Using+repository+permissions

I can read that a user with the WRITE permission can create a Pull Request, approve and merge it, but also Push directly to the repository.

It seems like users with the WRITE permission can bypass all kinds of code review by pushing directly to the branch, hence by ignoring to create Pull Requests.

Is there a way that enforce that all commits to master has to be done via Pull Requests?

5 answers

1 accepted

This widget could not be displayed.

Oh I see that this question has already been asked here:

https://answers.atlassian.com/questions/152360/branch-permissions-only-allow-commits-via-pull-request

And it is not possible.

Branch permissions now support separate permissions for writing directly to the branch vs merging via pull request.

Jeff Thomas Atlassian Team Nov 19, 2013

You could setup Branch Permissions so that only certain people can write to a branch.

True, but I want everyone to be able to approve and merge, and I want everyone to create Pull Requests, but no one to push directly to the branch.

The problem, I think, is that the WRITE permission allows both approve+merge AND pushing directly. So if we want to enforce code review, we need to enforce Pull Requests. But with the WRITE permission you can bypass creating Pull Requests and push your commit directly to the branch, bypassing the whole code review process.

So my question still stands; Is there a way that enforce that all commits to master has to be done via Pull Requests?

Jeff Thomas Atlassian Team Nov 19, 2013

Sorry, I missed where you want to people to still be able to approve and merge.