How to distribute section/part of page to newsfeed/feed

Per Schrader January 7, 2019

Is it possible to "mark"/label/tag a section of text and publish it on an other page? 

Regards Per

1 answer

1 vote
Jennifer Hemmens January 7, 2019

You can use the "Excerpt include" macros. Place the text you wish to duplicate in the "Excerpt" macro. Then place an "Excerpt include" macro on the other page to render the text there.

Per Schrader January 8, 2019

Hei Jennifer

Tank you for answering. I have tried that macro and it works. What i did not make clare was that I need this funksjonality to be generic in a template-dokument (blueprint). Spesifically in meeting memo where discussions and decisions can be distributed/published to different feeds. 

Regards Per

Jennifer Hemmens January 8, 2019

Hi Per,

I'm not well acquainted with creating custom blueprints as I'm not a programmer, however, I spend a lot of time creating templates!

This macro should work if you insert the "Excerpt include" macro to all of the templates you wish it to automatically be included on. (I just tested it on both a space and a global template, and it worked for me).

Do keep the following in mind:

• User/group permissions: make sure that the page on which you create the original excerpt text is visible to everyone, otherwise they might not be able to access the other page (inherited restrictions) or see the excerpt in other pages it is included on!
  • For the above, it might be useful to make a general space to store "non-confidential" information that all confluence-users can see.
  • When you're inserting the "Excerpt include" macro into the template and you enter the page the excerpt is on, the preview will render an error message. This is because a template is just that - a template. It isn't an actual saved page, and (generally speaking) cannot link to other macros. So don't worry, just ignore the message! As soon as you've published a page using the template, the text will appear :)