Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hierarchy and/or Nesting for JIRA Tasks (JIRA - software)

Ania Bodeit December 8, 2021

Hi Everyone,

I am totally new to JIRA (though certainly not new to software products).

My client would like to create a hierarchy for their Tasks.  We are using JIRA Software - Software Product (Company-Managed project).  The client is interested in having a Sprint with a number of Epics, and under the Epics that would like to have Tasks.  Under these Tasks they would like to have "Child Tasks".  Something like this:

Sprint1

> Epic1

>> Task1

>>> ChildTask1.1

>>> ChildTask1.2

>> Task2

>>> ChildTask2.1

>>> ChildTask2.2

> Epic2

Is this possible?

I know about SubTasks - that is different.  They actually want "Tasks" and "ChildTasks".

Thank you,

Ania

5 answers

3 accepted

Suggest an answer

1 vote
Answer accepted
Florian PEREZ
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 8, 2021

Hello, 

If you want a real hierarchy (a hierarchy understood by Jira) there's just 2 level possible

Epic > Task > Sub-task

This is the only real hierarchy without additional plugin.

You can add some kind of dependencies between issue by using links, but again it's not a real hierarchy.

Hope this help! 

Yes, that's great, thank you.  I mean, I was kind of hoping that we could have more of a hierarchy, but now I can give my managers a proper substantiated response.

0 votes
Answer accepted
Johnny FromCanada December 8, 2021

AFAIK, not possible with Jira proper (aside from Subtasks).

Consider Advanced Roadmaps (Premium tier), which introduces the "Parent Link" custom field, and enables hierarchy to apparently arbitrary depth.

https://support.atlassian.com/jira-software-cloud/docs/configure-custom-hierarchy-levels-in-advanced-roadmaps