Difference between different products under Atlassian?

Rahul Bhansali September 11, 2021

Hello guys,

I am new to the world of Jira as transitioning from a Sales Manager to role of a Business Analyst and hence have been using the platform for a while (as part of one of my pilot projects). Can you plz help me understand the different products under Atlassian's umbrella and when it'd be the best scene to use them like Jira v Jira Service Management v Jira Align , as well as Jira v Confluence v Trello ?

Thanks

4 comments

Comment

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 11, 2021

Jira (Core) is a simplified project management tool for customers looking to do issue tracking.

Jira Software adds tools to Core, aimed at developers, especially those working in Agile ways (the main thing you'll see is that Software adds Kanban and Scrum boards to support those two methodologies)

Jira Service Management adds Service Desk and Service Management functions over Jira Core (ITSM functions like customer requests and portals, service level agreements, asset managment, knowledge bases etc)

Jira Align is aimed mostly at larger development organisations that want to do Agile at Scale - it's intended to sit over the top of a set of Jira Software projects and provide all the layers up through SAFe, LESS and DAD (and it'll happily support other frameworks too)

Confluence is a wiki.  It's there to allow people to collaborate on writing stuff for other people that's instantly available, live, accessible and easy to maintain (no faffing around having to edit documents and think about storing them or how to get them visible to the right people)