New to JSM and need setup help

Kevin Tunstill December 16, 2022

Hi, I am brand new to JSM and really need help in setting up my IT Service Management help desk.

I have only installed the software and had a look around, but I am afraid to dig in as I have no idea what I am doing. Can anyone help me?

7 comments

Comment

Gareth Jones December 16, 2022

I've just gone through this process myself having recently moved to JSM. 

I honestly found the best way to learn was to set up a few instances of JSM and just played around with it. It's hard to know what you need to learn until you hit hurdles.

Start out by reading the documentation, that will give you an idea of the thought process behind the platform: https://support.atlassian.com/jira-service-management-cloud/resources/

Then just try setting up a few test instances and see how you get on. You'll find you get more and more specific questions as you're running through the setup and then people will be able to help you a bit more directly.

Gareth, thank you very much for this. I really appreciate it.

Chingiz Fazliahmadov December 16, 2022

Hey @Kevin Tunstill ,

I am attaching a useful link Get started with Jira Service Management for admins  that will help you in setup your JSM project.

Thank you Chingiz

Does anyone know how to integrate Jira with Azure AD or 365 so that users can be added without manual input?

Gareth Jones December 16, 2022

It's not something I've dealt with yet as we use JSM for external facing clients, but when we researched it ourselves it appears you'll need Atlassian Access subscriptions too. They cost around $4 per user per month so it can get quite pricey quite quickly.

You can have a play around with pricing here: https://www.atlassian.com/software/access/pricing

Your other options are to import all users into JSM using a CSV list, although this would obviously not have the benefits of linking directly to AD, it would just speed up the manual user creation.