Confluence for Technical Writing? Well maybe!

I'm a Technical Writer by trade. Documentation is my business, and the tools used to create it are my bread and butter. I've used everything from text editors and word processor apps right the way through to headless CMS packages in the cloud. It didn't matter if they used WYSIWYG editors, markdown, HTML, XML, or DITA. I've seen and used them all to fulfil my craft. Except one!

Confluence had largely remained on the periphery of my radar throughout my career. Sometimes it was there, but there were other tools available. It was a case of use it if you want. Without any formal buy-in, no one did.

I understand the draw of familiarity when choosing a tool. You know how to use it, so why waste time researching if there is something else out there that can do the same job better or cheaper. Us techies frequently fall into that trap when choosing a tool to complete a task, but that is the wrong approach. It is better to list your requirements first, and match those to the products that can meet them. Never do that in reverse unless you want to learn the hard way.

In my line of work, Confluence has a slightly bad reputation. We've been known to turn our noses up at its lack of functionality, but starting a new gig at the start of the year made me look at it close up for the first time. I manage a team of 11 spread across three sites and countries. Our external documentation is authored in an external app, but there was a need for internal documentation as well. Lots of it.

It was time to have a long, hard look at Confluence. How did it match up? Here's my summary:

• Comparing Confluence to an enterprise CMS is pretty pointless. They're both engineered with different user bases in mind.
  • Confluence may not have all the bells and whistles of your Adobe, Madcap, or Oxygen XML tools, but that doesn't make it any less useful.