What is the best way to manage two types of content?

Stephen C Hauer April 14, 2022

Hello, 

Im new to Jira and trying to better understand how I should be managing a team that has two unique workflows.  We are using sprints to manage our workload going forward because it works best with our current structure. What Im trying to figure out is the following

I have two unique workflows I need to support and don't really know how to set this up in Jira.

1. Production: Backlog>ToDO>In Progress>IN Verification>Done
  2. Generate Backlog: Ideas>Analysis>Scoping>Ordering>Photographing>Send to Backlog
    (Send to Backlog refers to the first workflow)

The thoughts that are going through my head are as follows.

• Should this be done using new projects?
  • Should this be done making a new task type?
  • What is the more scalable solution?

Any feedback people have on this topic would be greatly apricated. 

-Stephen

3 comments

Comment

Janusch Rentenatus April 14, 2022

You can create two projects, each can have its own type, each can have different state transitions.

If you need it, you can define your own additional states differently in each project.

Jimi Wikman
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 30, 2022

I agree with this.

You basically have two completely different processes where the first is a build process and the second is the strategic and financial process.

They should never be in one JIRA project because they do not have a 1-1 relation and you will have tasks that are strategic in size.

Two projects and two workflows: One where you plan and scope and one where you work.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.