Super newbie to Jira

Shawn B. October 2, 2019

OK, I have the most basic question (I hope). :) I am new to this global company and they use Jira and they want me to find enhancement and ways to improve the ticketing system. 

I am ITIL certified and am familiar with Cherwell, Service Now and Remedy but is everything that Jira does for ticket tracking a "project"?

In almost all other ticketing systems you can define a ticket as an Incident (break\fix), Service Request, Change or a project. For our Service Desk all of our tickets are projects. I am not sure if it is a configuration setting or something that needs to be defined within a project?

I have included a pic of the queue since I am unsure of the version we have as when I hit the help button I don't see a version. 

Any help - direction is appreciated.Jira.PNG

3 comments

Comment

Kat Warner
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
October 2, 2019

Welcome!

For Jira Service Desk the project is the area covered by the service desk for example you may have a project for HR requests, another for internal IT issues, and a third for requests with customers - as the relevant agents would be different for each project.

Incident (break\fix), Service Request, Change or a project classifications would be made at an issue type or request type level.

Your Jira version is "Cloud".  :)

I'll see if I can find some more details information for you.

Kat Warner
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
October 2, 2019

This app is for Jira Server, but you can look at the workflow diagrams to get an idea o how to configure your Jira Service Desk on Cloud to support ITIL processes.

Sebastian Krzewiński
Community Leader
Community Leader