New to JIRA - Looking for best practice implementing JIRA for bug tracking

Huy Trinh February 28, 2020

Hello all,

I am a newbie to JIRA. Our organization currently is using the product as an issue ticketing system. Based on my initial research, the product is best designed as bug tracking. 

I would like to get some ideas on best practices for implementing JIRA for defect tracking of bugs for our internal custom software. 

Thanks.

2 comments

Comment

Brad_Ledford February 28, 2020

Have you gone through the official guides here: https://www.atlassian.com/software/jira/guides

These have been very valuable to me over the years in trying to get a sense for how Atlassian expects you to use their suite.

Good luck!

Ajit Rajput March 2, 2020

Here is my experience from implementing standard Bug workflow on large DC instance:

With organizations having multiple quality systems (viz. HP QC, JIRA etc.) and projects/teams using either/all of these systems, experience non-uniform defect life cycle which creates inconsistent quality processes, lack of corporate-wide visibility into quality performance, and create barriers / reduce flexibility to configure these processes as business challenges evolve. Hence implementation of such standardized Defect Life Cycle ensures that the process is uniform across the organization. 

Hence it is important to bring them under a standard operating model (atleast for defects tracking). The role of quality/engg practice team should take the primary role here to design, guide, train and create awareness of standardization in bug tracking across the organizations. 

Standard Workflow Templates

You as JIRA administrator would need to have atleast 2 or 3 standard bug workflow templates to which the projects should be associated with. These workflows should meet majority of teams/projects requirement in terms of tracking the defect life-cycle

Capture Key Attributes