Large scale JIRA consolidation

Taylor Huston April 5, 2018

I'm a JIRA Admin that's recently been tasked with a fairly large projects. I am working with a company that has approximately 17-20 different JIRA instances across their organization. Some Server (at varying versions, some as old as 6.4), some Cloud. I have been asked to consolidate all of them into a shiny new JIRA Data Center instance.

I think I have a pretty solid game-plan based on the official documentation and my own experiences, but I've never personally done something at quite this scale, so I am more than open to any input or tips from other people who might have. Things I should look out for, edge cases I may not have thought of, etc.

We will be making liberal use of https://marketplace.atlassian.com/plugins/com.awnaba.projectconfigurator.projectconfigurator/server/overview to handle the project exports and imports.

3 comments

Comment

Vickey Palzor Lepcha
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 5, 2018

This sounds challenging - do keep us informed on how you go about it and challenges you face. We'd be watching this post here for sometime I bet. :-)

I'm excited to learn quite a lot from this experience of yours.

One question though - are you planning to consolidate all 17-20 of them into one instance now ? 

Not all in one day or anything, but eventually they will all be in the same Data Center instance.

Vickey Palzor Lepcha
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 5, 2018