How do YOU display your active issues?

Esther Strom October 2, 2017

This isn't a technical question so much as a request for info sharing. What's the best way you've found to keep track of multiple projects? I'm our Jira admin, but I'm also a web developer. I hate having to switch between dashboards, so I currently have a single dashboard, single column width, and a Filter Results gadget for each separate project I work on (because I need different columns to be visible for each.)

This has worked well, but as I'm added to more projects, it means a ton of scrolling.

Share with the class your favorite way of displaying a ton of information.

4 comments

Comment

Peter DeWitt
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 2, 2017

@Esther Strom, I use a board (Kanban or Scrum)  and setup swimlanes to represent each project.  The list can be long but the swimlanes are collapsible.  I also use a swimlane at the top for flagged issues so that ones I need to keep a better eye on are at the top.

Mizan
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 3, 2017

We work on a Kanban board and have a quick filter "Assigne to me" . The query for this quick filter is Assignee =currentUser() .  

Scrumbler October 11, 2017

I'll +1 @Peter DeWitt for sure, a Board of any type will serve you well. It compresses a ton of information in a nested style that will allow you to see everything from whichever angle you could imagine. I have a "Sprint" Board designed for everyone in my development pods to use, and then I have a super-powered admin focused one that I hide from them for my own use. Here are some screenshots of each:

Sprint

sprint board example.PNG

Admin