Customising Jira for non-software based product development projects...

Tony Palmer March 12, 2018

I am a project manager for (non-software) product development projects for the mining industry.  We have traditionally used waterfall project management methods but have recently started to introduce Agile techniques into the way we run our projects.  We use the roadmapping tool Aha! and have recently started to use Jira.  I am endeavouring to find the right balance between waterfall and Agile to suit our projects.  I am interested to know if there are others out there in the Atlassian community in a similar situation.  if so maybe we can collaborate to get the best out of Jira for our projects and project teams...

2 comments

Comment

Andrew McGuire November 17, 2018

@Tony Palmer just wondering if you have discovered a good way to implement Jira for your non-software related needs. I am beginning to use Jira and would be interested to hear how you are doing currently with balancing agile techniques. 

Tony Palmer November 19, 2018

Hi Andrew yes we continue to persevere with Jira but there are many aspects that we find quite frustrating and unfortunately we have not had much support when we have reached out to Altlassian for help.  Jira will only filter for Stories, there is no ability to filter Versions or Epics.  This is a feature that even the software users have been asking for for years.  Having a true Version/Epic/Story filterable hierarchy would seem to be an obvious functionality but frustratingly it does not exist.  This has been a major impediment to our ability to use Jira for non-software projects.

To be fair though we do have a constraint in that we want to integrate Jira with the product management and roadmapping tool Aha!.  For this to happen smoothly with minimal manual admin the integration has to be set up in certain ways.  I won't go into that unless you are using Aha!.