Automated User Story Quality Tool

Miguel July 2, 2020

Hi All,

I'm a software developer. As such, I've worked on many projects that use Jira and I think of it as an awesome tool for agile teams. Are you with me on that? If you are, I would really appreciate your feedback but first let me tell you about a recent experience I had.

A few months ago I joined a team which had probably the worst backlog I've ever seen. It just didn't make any sense. Why?, because user stories had generic titles like "User Login", no description whatsoever and forget about prioritization, estimation or any other stuff.

I tried my best to explain how to write user stories (based on experience; I don't consider myself an expert on the matter), the importance of backlog grooming sessions, the importance of defining a proper ticket workflow (what's your definition of DONE?!) and other practices I consider help the whole team understand what they are building and gives management good visibility of the project.

Through meetings and with examples and presentations I tried to enforce some rules e.g.

• If the issue/ticket is of type story, write it following the "persona + need + purpose" template.
  • Give your story an Acceptance Criteria.
  • If the ticket is a Bug report, add a bullet list of steps to reproduce.
  • Don't leave the tickets "In Progress" if you are not working on them (move them to pause)
  • Etc...

It was useless. I was barking at the wrong tree. Everyone just kept writing and using Jira the way they wanted. I finally quit the project because there were too many broken windows and technical debt.

After that frustrating experience I started thinking, Can we enforce rules automatically in Jira? When writing code I almost always use a linter or other static code analysis tools that help me identify when I'm not following coding conventions or guidelines, stylistic errors or potential bugs.