Can't add, edit, or delete statuses for next-gen workflows

Christine B February 12, 2021

I'm an admin for both my org and projects, but seem to have lost the ability to modify workflow statuses for any of our next-gen projects.

We run a mix of classic and next-gen projects in my org and recently decided to make some changes to our company workflows across all scrum teams. Prior to today, I have been able to create and modify all of our workflows without issue. However, when I attempted to do so today, the option was disabled for all of our next-gen projects.

Selecting a status displays the message "This status is shared across multiple workflows", and the option to "Make changes to this status for <issue type> issues only" is not selectable. The ability to delete and add new statuses is also disabled.

Screen Shot 2021-02-12 at 21.39.57.png

1 answer

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 12, 2021

Hi Christine - Welcome to the Atlassian Community!

I didn't even know this was possible! This looks like new functionality that is coming soon, but they are not quite there. In the future you will be able to create a different workflow per issue type, but for now, any change to the single workflow affects all issue types. That's not surprising since you can't separate them anyway.  :-)

I will still able to save it though. But you are saying you made a change and it won't let you save it all?

What happens if you click the link that says to just save it for Sub-tasks only? 

I am also going to tag Atlassian on this so hopefully someone can take a look. 

Christine B February 14, 2021

@John Funk Hi, thanks for your response!