Come for the products,
stay for the community

The Atlassian Community can help you and your team get more value out of Atlassian products and practices.

Atlassian Community about banner
Community Members

Community Events
Community Groups

Interaction with Jira Service Management and Jira Software

My apologies if these questions have been asked and answered. I am new to Product Discovery and have 2 questions.

1. Most of the idea or product suggestions we get come through our Jira service management project. Is there a way to funnel tickets from a help desk project into a product discovery project?
  2. Once an idea is ready for delivery, is the only option to link it to an epic? Many of our ideas are stand alone tickets and I'd like to be able to convert a product discovery idea directly to a change request or new feature without needing to link it to an epic.

Thanks

2 comments

#2, Yes you can link any Jira ticket to the Delivery section.

Like Tanguy Crusson likes this

Great, thanks

Hey @David !

1. Most of the idea or product suggestions we get come through our Jira service management project. Is there a way to funnel tickets from a help desk project into a product discovery project?

I think you'd need to set up some kind of automation to create a new ticket in your roadmap project when some kind of trigger is met on the JSM project.

For example, you could move the JSM ticket to a new status "Feature request". This then creates a new ticket in your roadmap and can be configured to copy over relevant data & link the tickets.

You should also consider the reverse scenario (which probably happens much more often), where an idea already exists and you want to link the JSM ticket to the existing idea. In this case, you'd add the JSM ticket as an insight to the idea, which creates an "added to idea" link on the JSM ticket.

- C

Like # people like this