Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I have a separate idea for 'design' work?

James Conway February 23, 2024

I'm just getting started setting up my JPD project and want to get the community's thoughts on best practice. 

The context is that we are early in the product lifecycle and have some large and complex features to design and implement through this year. The rough plan is:

Feature A: Design Q2, implement Q3
Feature B: Design Q3, implement Q4
Feature C or D (TBD by more discovery): Design Q4, implement 2025Q1

Then there will inevitably be smaller features and improvements we need our designer to work on.

How would you approach this? Thanks in advance :) 

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Stacy Smith February 28, 2024

@James Conway   our approach for this would be a single JPD Idea for the project (feature) with linked Epics as the delivery of the parts.  So in your scenario you might have an Epic for the Design, then an Epic for the Implementation if you want to roadmap those 'departments' separately.  The benefit of one JPD Idea is keeping all of the project parts in a tight Idea container.

In our environment we approach the project as full-stack, meaning we don't have separate JPD Ideas to segregate technical departments (research, design, infra, coding).   

0 votes
Troy Moore February 23, 2024