Threading of community notification emails

Steffen Opel _Utoolity_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 26, 2018

Thanks to the great work of the community team I'm meanwhile pretty happy with the monitoring, filtering and notification options for community content!

The one thing that would yield a notable improvement still is the lack of threading in my email client (I'm using Thunderbird), i.e. the Atlassian community is pretty much the only forum where emails do not automatically sort themselves into a thread based on the originating question or discussion.

This considerably increases the time to skim through new responses, and more importantly, reduces the chance to timely respond to those where I've posted an answer and someone asks for additional feedback, because I cannot mark/watch the resp. thread.

I'm not an expert on how email correlation for threading purposes works in detail. Does anyone have a tip on how to eventually achieve this already, maybe I'm overlooking something? Would the community team consider to implement the likely required email metadata changes otherwise?

3 comments

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 26, 2018

My main client does some threading, so there's definitely something that allows it (in the picture, the boxed number shows all the items in the thread, but it doesn't do it the way I'd like, as an expansion, it takes you to a new list)

But it doesn't thread properly - new-question and edited-same-question emails can arrive together, but it won't link them together. 

My guess is that the "type" is in the way, and the client doesn't know it should ignore [answer] [reply] [etc]