Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Delete all comments of all issues that fulfil a certain JQL

Gisela Lassahn June 9, 2023

I'm searching for a way to delete all comments of all issues which fulfil a certain JQL statement.

We're using Jira DC 8.20.3 and do not have Script Runner or something similar.

My idea was to do it with Jira automation, by calling the REST API using the action "Send web request".

But as I am a totally beginner regarding Jira automation, Jira REST API and REST API in common, I've got no idea how to begin.

Can anybody help me?

3 answers

Suggest an answer

1 vote
Reece Lander _ScriptRunner - The Adaptavist Group_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 9, 2023

I know you mentioned that you do not have ScriptRunner. But I'll take a moment to show off some new features of ScriptRunner that would make this kind of automation very simple.

ScriptRunner 7.11.0+ contains our new HAPI scripting syntax. This is still scripting, so more complex than native Jira automation, but with drastically simpler syntax, more approachable by non programmers.

For example, here is a HAPI script that deletes all comments from all issues matching a JQL query:

Issues.search('project = SR').each { issue ->
issue.comments.each { comment ->
comment.delete()
}
}

You can use HAPI anywhere in ScriptRunner that scripting is available, for example you could run this directly in the Script Console, or as part of a scheduled job or event listener.

A lesser known feature of ScriptRunner is that we offer an automation action, this means you can configure a trigger in Jira automation, then run a ScriptRunner script (and HAPI) as an action. This integration will show up if you have both apps installed and licensed.