Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Crowd on servers with a dynamic IP

Seeker1437 October 10, 2019

Hello, I am new to Crowd, I recently installed it and began preparations for establishing SSO on JIRA. When I was adding the application it mentioned needing to have the application's IP address.

The server JIRA and Crowd run on are the same (they run on a single server with reverse proxy through Nginx using SSL.

The IP address for the server is dynamic, additionally is it proxied a second time by Cloudflare.

Is there anything in place for handling when a connected application's IP address can be dynamic and the client's IP can be dynamic each time a person connects?

1 answer

0 votes
Andy Heinzer
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
October 11, 2019

Hi,

I see that you are setting up Crowd and have some concerns in regards to making sure that other applications such as Jira or Confluence will always be able to reach the Crowd application in a situation where the server address could be changing.

The additions of using SSL and what appears to be more than one reverse proxy will complicate this, but I will try to explain a scenario to make this work.  Since we know that your environment has both Jira and Crowd installed to the same server, we can leverage that fact to use a static address that won't change.  127.0.0.1 This is the equivalent of the localhost address that linux/unix machines have as a means to refer to the local address.  We can use this address when we are linking Jira to Crowd as a way to make sure each application can always communicate with either other.