cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Delegated Crowd directory without LDAP Group

Ansar Rezaei
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 2, 2016

Hi

1- I'm new to crowd. We have lots of group in LDAP directory that uses for OS security group and I don't want to use them in Atlassian applications. I create a LDAP connector that bring every users and groups from Microsoft LDAP and I create a Delegated Directory in order to import users from LDAP to  I need to have a Delegated LDAP Directory in crowd without that groups. Is it possible to change the configuration of Crowd Directory to achieve this?
2- If I have new users in LDAP directory, How I can sync them with Delegated directory?

Thanks For your answers.

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Bruno Vincent
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 4, 2016

Hi Ansar,

If your main concern is not to import the AD groups in Crowd, you actually have two options.

1st option: Create a (single) LDAP connector directory and edit the group object filter in the configuration tab so as to fetch only Atlassian applications groups

2nd option: Create a (single) Delegated authentication directory and then manage your Atlassian applications groups locally in this Crowd directory. You do not need manual synchronisation for new AD users. As detailed in the documentation:

If a user logs in successfully via LDAP authentication but does not yet exist in Crowd, Crowd will automatically add them to the Delegated Authentication directory

Ansar Rezaei
Rising Star
Rising Star
August 5, 2016

Hi Bruno
Thanks for your comment.