Come for the products,
stay for the community

The Atlassian Community can help you and your team get more value out of Atlassian products and practices.

Atlassian Community about banner
Community Members

Community Events
Community Groups

how to make a URL link to open in new tab

Hi All,

I am new to Confluence and i am creating a new SPACE for my team.

I have a soft link "URL" and i am looking to open in new tab if any one click on it.

Please suggest.

Thank you in Advance.

4 answers

As a workaround in CONFLUENCE, you can use the HTML macro html_macro.png

to embed an anchor tag with a target attribute in the following fashion:

<a href="https://www.google.com/" target="_blank">The Google</a>

I have verified this technique works, as I have a deep need for opening pages in a new tab.

For some reason, the HTML macro is missing from my Confluence Cloud installation.  I only see an HTML Comment macro when I search for "HTML".

Like # people like this

There is a security vulnerability with simply tartget="_blank".

The fix is to add: 

rel="noopener noreferrer"

For further explanation read this page: How to Fix _blank Target Vulnerability | Perishable Press 

Like Azfar Masut likes this

Ooooo nice tip, Monica - thank you! 

Like Monica likes this

Hi @venkat

As per our documentation LinksConfluence doesn't provide an option to configure a link to open in a new window or tab. Users can choose to right click / CTRL+click the link if they want to open it in a particular way. 

A free option is to get Link Opener for Confluence plugin in Atlassian Marketplace. 

Hope this answer can help you! 

Kind Regards,
Victoria S. | Atlassian Support

Hopefully Atlassian can do something about this as this is really very helpful to direct users from one page to another. It will really help us a lot.

Like # people like this