Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how do i create a space for a company department?

Lori.Malvey January 14, 2020

When I try to create a brand new space, confluence lists many other department's spaces. How do I create a space from scratch for a department that doesn't have one already? I don't want to create a space within another department's space. It does not allow me to name my new space. What do I do?

I've been trying to reply to your answer, but its not accepting my reply, so I'll put my reply here.  I cut and paste the screen but it is not appearing (maybe there is a lock or something; I'm using an Amazon Work Space computer and it can't do a lot of things a normal computer can do). So let me rephrase my question since I can't show you here: Do I need to be an administrator in order to create a department Space? I am a technical writer, and they asked me to set up their Confluence. Help.

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Max Foerster - K15t
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 14, 2020

Hey @Lori.Malvey ,

how are you creating a new space? Could you please describe what you are doing and where you are doing it in the tool? Because I'm not sure if you are in the right place. So when you are creating a space it should look kinda similar to this:

conf_space.png

And it's always an option to simply create a blank space. 

Best, Max

Max Foerster - K15t
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 14, 2020

Hey @Lori.Malvey ,