create Template that creates unique Page ID

Hi,

Is there a way to create a Page with a unique Page title e.g. "Project: " & 10001? For every new page this number will increment.

I am currently a Space Administrator for a single space that i have created. But I am unable to create User macros. There does not seem to be any option. I can only add the built-in HTML macro.

Can anyone help quickly?

2 answers

This widget could not be displayed.

Natively, no, the page title is just a string, given by the user, there's no way to inject something in there even with a template.

You could use some code that could re-write the page title as it is saved, I think, but you'll need an add-on to do it, but you might find it struggles with the uniqueness and incrementing if pages are saved at similar times.

I'd be tempted to just use the page ID - that's immutable, numeric and increments as you create new pages, and can be used to jump straight to a page in a url.

Can you elaborate with an example on how to use a pageID from within a template? Right now i can only use the HTML macro which is enabled. JQuery / Javascript works in it fine.

OR is pageID a parameter that can be used in the Create From Template macro?

I've never done it in a template.  Never had any need for it.  The one time I was asked for something like this, the actual problem the users were trying to solve with numbering was easily and better solved by using Confluence functionality that they were unaware of.

I know the page id is available to pages, as I've written user macros (to help with debugging) that can display the id of the current page.  However, I don't think it's available in a template or page create, because the ID is not allocated until the page is created.

This widget could not be displayed.

Hi Eijaz,

You could use the App Page Tree Creator. It supports consecutive numbers per space. But you need an administrator to install the App.

Regards,