Why does the body of my macro now display as raw html after upgrading to Confluence 6?

Matt Boesch September 7, 2017

I will preface this by saying I am not really a plugin developer (or much of a Java developer anymore). A while ago, I modified/customized a plugin for Confluence 5.5.7 and it displays and works fine.  Now that I upgrade to Confluence 6.2.1, it displays raw html from the body instead of formatted text.  For example, the body is being displayed as the following in the browser

<p>You have agreed to the terms and conditions. Please proceed to<span style="font-size:large;font-face:serif" class="conf-macro output-inline" data-hasbody="true" data-macro-name="span"> <a href="/display/sbirsttrac/SBIR-STTR+Advisory+Committee+Meetings">SBIR-STTR Advisory Committee Meetings</a>, <a href="/display/sbirsttrac/Working+Groups">Working Groups</a> or <a href="/display/sbirsttrac/Travel%2C+Reimbursement%2C+and+Conflict">Travel, Reimbursement, and Conflict</a> </span> </p>

with the source from the browser being

<p>You have agreed to the terms and conditions. Please proceed to<span style="font-size:large;font-face:serif" class="conf-macro output-inline" data-hasbody="true" data-macro-name="span"> <a href="/display/sbirsttrac/SBIR-STTR+Advisory+Committee+Meetings">SBIR-STTR Advisory Committee Meetings</a>, <a href="/display/sbirsttrac/Working+Groups">Working Groups</a> or <a href="/display/sbirsttrac/Travel%2C+Reimbursement%2C+and+Conflict">Travel, Reimbursement, and Conflict</a> </span> 

The storage format is 

<ac:structured-macro ac:name="group-signup" ac:schema-version="1" ac:macro-id="71de1bf0-cd35-405d-a75a-12910b0a8596"><ac:parameter ac:name="button">I Agree</ac:parameter><ac:parameter ac:name="key">sbirsttrac</ac:parameter><ac:rich-text-body>