Which default table behaviour do you expect? Fixed Width or Automatic Width?

Hi, this is Henk. I'm a product manager on the Confluence Editor team and we've recently started working on making table columns resizable! See the JIRA ticket here: https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/CONF-3393 

We plan to introduce a new table "mode" with "Fixed Width Columns" and it will be possible to switch between the current, "Fluid Width Columns" mode and the new mode.

One question we've been wondering about: Would you prefer new tables to be created as:

1. "Fluid" (like today, meaning the column resizes automatically as you add content), or as
  2. "Fixed" (meaning the table columns are a fixed width, but can be resized by clicking and dragging the cell borders) 

We'd greatly appreciate your feedback. 

Kind regards,

Henk Kleynhans | Senior PM - Confluence

39 answers

16 votes

I'd prefer a default of fluid, because it works fine for most of the stuff I write.  The ability to do fixed width would be very welcome for the times when fluid doesn't work for me, but that's maybe 20% of my tables at most.  I think the main reason for choosing fluid is that I don't want to have to think about column widths most of the time - I'd rather not default to having to adjust my columns for 80% of the tables I write.

But

• I don't write huge amounts in tables, and I'd like to hear from heavier users.
  • My ideal implementation would be to have the default set in my profile, so I can set "fluid" and other people can choose "fixed" for themselves.

If fluid means that the column won't wrap until I tell it too, then that's fine.  I find that almost every new table currently creates the problem of wrapping things that I don't want wrapped, due to the page width.  I would prefer to choose which columns wrap and at what width.  This is especially true with the many small tables that I tend to create or maintain regarding contact information, financial figures, etc.