Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where is the atlassian-confluence.log file when running Confluence 7.0.1 using the SDK?

Michael Eskin September 19, 2019

I'm a Confluence server plug-in developer and am trying to the log4j system supposedly built into Confluence server to output some diagnostics to the atlassian-confluence.log file.

I've got everything setup as far as including the log4j loggers in my plug-in Java sources:

// For logging
import org.slf4j.Logger;
import org.slf4j.LoggerFactory;

Creating a logger for my class:

private static final Logger log = LoggerFactory.getLogger(VSAdmin.class);

and using calling it:

log.error("\n*********************VSAdmin doGet");

I've added my packages by name to the logging package list in the Confluence Admin interface, both in standard and diagnostic modes, restarted Confluence many times, but there simply is no atlassian-confluence.log file to be found.

Again, this is using the SDK, so the log files are found in target\confluence\home\logs under my build directory, but while there are other log files there:

atlassian-confluence-profiler.log
instrumentation.log

There is no atlassian-confluence.log

Going out of my mind here just trying to get some log info out. I can send log strings to the console, but console output isn't available from our QA server, which is a standard Confluence Server 7.0.1 install.  

Are there other files I need to modify on my SDK instance to get logging to happen?  None of the information on the Atlassian Developer docs have been of any use.

2 answers

0 votes
Caterina Curti
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 29, 2021

A few years later and really just cross posting the thread from the developer community started from this one: