Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

User Macro Confluence 7.4 - Can't apply method to $content.lastModificationDate data type

Joe Johnson (Inf) June 30, 2020

Hello,

I have a user macro (developed by someone else who is no longer available to help debug) which worked in Confluence 6.13.7 but no longer works in 7.4. For context, I'm a Confluence administrator but do not understand Velocity in-depth.

I've determined where the issue is and probably what's happening, but I don't know how to fix it:

#set($review=$content.currentDate)
#set($valid=$content.lastModificationDate)
#set($diff=$review.getTime()-$valid.getTime())

The above code is the offender: the third line uses the .getTime() method on $review and $valid to return the unix time of each date and compare them to finally return a number of milliseconds difference between the two ($diff).

This works fine in 6.13 but in 7.4 it appears that the .getTime() method no longer works on the $valid variable. I suspect that it's because the data type is wrong or something like that. Is it possible to somehow convert the data so I can apply the method to it?

I wrote a very basic macro just to output the contents to the screen for troubleshooting:

## @noparams
#set($review=$content.currentDate)
#set($valid=$content.lastModificationDate)
#set($diff=$review.getTime()-$valid.getTime())

<h2>Vanilla</h2> <br>
$review <br>
$valid <br>
$diff <br>
<br>

<h2>GetTime Method Applied</h2> <br>
$review.getTime() <br>
$valid.getTime() <br>
$diff <br>
<br>

As an example, this is the output that I get:

Vanilla

Tue Jun 30 10:31:02 CEST 2020
2020-06-30 09:29:37.283
$diff

GetTime Method Applied

$valid.getTime()
$diff

What's really strange is that when I created this same troubleshooting macro in 6.13, the output in the vanilla section for $valid *looks* the same format in both versions of confluence - e.g. *2020-06-30 09:29:37.283* but the data is obviously not the same type.